Go to David Van Zandt Website

Period Bow Makers

This is a listing of Bow Makers who specialize in Period Bows. As with all the listings of resources on my Web pages, these are not intended to have my personal endorsements. All of these makers have bows in the hands of professional musicians and have met with a degree of commercial success. Many musicians have asked me if I know of any Baroque Bow Makers. Well... here they are.

If you are a professional baroque bow maker not on this list or find that I've made an error in any of my listings, please contact me.


Pieter Affourtit
Kasteellaan 28
1628 KP Hoorn
The Netherlands.
+31 651127566
Mobile +31 (6) 51 127566
Phone/Fax +31 (0)229 503193
Skype: pieteraffourtit
Web: www.affourtit-bowmaker.com
E-mail: pieter@affourtit-bowmaker.com

Antonino Airenti
Via Marussig 13,
16166 Genova ITALIA
Phone/Fax +39 010 3730148
Web: www.baroquebows.net
E-mail: info@baroquebows.net

Ralph Ashmead
P.O. Box 1411
Tuolumne, CA 95379 USA
Phone: (209) 928-1272
Web: www.ashmeadbows.com
E-mail: ralph@ashmeadbows.com

Louis Begin
793 Chemin de la Source
Lantier Qc, J0T 1V0
Canada
Res: (819) 324-0944
Workshop: (514) 708-3552
E-mail: lbegin@iq.ca

Pietro Cavalazzi
Via A. Volta 10, 20121 Milano - Italy
Phone/FAX:  02-653170
Web: www.archettaio.it
E-mail: pcavalazzi@archettaio.it

Philip Davis
67 Wolverleigh Blvd
Toronto, Ontario M4J 1E6 CANADA
Phone: (416) 466 9619

Basil de Visser
Binnen Bantammerstraat 10 A, 
Amsterdam, Holland
Phone:  +31-20-623.5614
FAX +31-20-423.0817
Home: Bloedstraat 18/3 tel: 423.2875
Web: baroquebows.com
E-mail:

Andrew Dipper
1004 Marquette Ave, suite 205
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55403, USA
Phone: (612)375-0708 ext.16
FAX: (612) 375-0096
Mobile: (651) 307-1590
E-mail: adipper@givensviolins.com

David Van Edwards
The Smokehouse, 6 Whitwell Road
Norwich, Norfolk NR1 4HB England
Phone: + 44 (0)1603 629899
Web: www.vanedwards.co.uk
E-mail: lutes@vanedwards.co.uk

Christopher English
2029 Spruce Street
Port Townsend, WA 98368 USA
Phone: (360) 379-9835
Web: www.cf-english.com
E-mail: cfenglish@yahoo.com

H.F. Grabenstein
37 Walker Hill Road
Williston, VT 05495 USA
Phone: (802) 878-5619
Web: hfgbowmaker.com

David Hawthorne
5 John F. Kennedy St. #301
Cambridge, MA 02138 USA
Phone: (617) 491-0781
Web: www.violinbows.net
E-mail: hawthorne@violinbows.net

Eitan Hoffer
Zvia, 20129, Israel
Phone: +972 4 6619156
Mobile: +972 507 626 156
NL: +31 6 24968834
Web: www.hoffer-bows.com

René-William & Michel GROPPE
Bows from 1650 to 1800 in copy
18, rue Mabille
F- 57000 METZ
France
Phone: 0033 387 76 29 87
Fax: 0033 387 21 02 52
Web: www.archetiers.com
E-mail: gropperw@aol.com or archetiers@aol.com

Kees van Hemert
Lange Beestenmarkt 70
2512 EG The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone/FAX ++ 31 - (0)70 - 3625107
Web: www.bowmaker.nl
E-mail: kvanhemert@bowmaker.nl

Ina Keller
Hellkamp 76
20255 Hamburg, Germany
Phone: 040-43097399  
Web: www.historische-boegen.de

André Klaassen
Oude Bornhof 22a
7201 DW ZUTPHEN, HOLLAND
Phone: ++ 31.575.516946
FAX: ++ 31.575.540382

Gerhard Landwehr
Middelwaard 2
6631 BJ Horssen, The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (0)2 354 705 331
E-mail: g.landwehr@tip.nl

Stephen A. Marvin
4 Sandcliffe Road
Toronto, Ontario, Canada M6N 2M3
Phone: (416) 239-6770
Web: www.historicalbows.com
E-mail: stephen.marvin@historicalbows.com

Sylvie MASSON
36 rue de Moscou
75008 PARIS, FRANCE
Phone: +33 (0)1 45 22 76 16
E-mail: sylviemassonarchetiere@hotmail.fr

David Orlin
726 Brooks Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48103 USA
Phone: (313) 663-6631

Richard W. Riggall
227 Maple Drive
Drums, Pa 18222
Phone: 570-708-1691
Web: www.riggallbows.com
E-mail: rick@riggallbows.com

Hans Reiners
Hagelberger Strasse 51
10965 Berlin / Germany
Phone: +49 - 30 - 785 87 05
Web: www.bows-viols.de
E-mail: hans@bows-viols.de

Linda Shortridge
725 #1 Tramway Lane NE
Albuquerque, NM 87122
Phone: (505) 822-1311

Jan Strumphler
Pastoor Ohllaan 31
3451 CB Vleuten, The Netherlands
Phone: ++ 31 (0)30 6774123

Michael Vann
Vann Bowed Instruments Ltd.
P.O. Box 126, Gabriola, B.C. VOR 1XO, CANADA
Phone/Fax (604) 247-8030
Web: vannbows.bc.ca
E-mail:mvann@islandnet.com

Scott Wallace
Gentzgasse 137/19
A-1180 Wien, AUSTRIA
Phone: 0043-1-470-95-73
E-mail: fydylstyks@utanet.at

Peter Williamson
Oldknow's Cottage
151 Church Lane
Marple, Cheshire SK6 7LD, UK
Phone: + 161 427 3914
E-mail: rwilliamson@fs1.li.man.ac.uk


To Top of Page

To the David Van Zandt side of this website